The junior awards were again held at Eggborough Village hall following the success of the previous year. About 85 parents and players gathered to celebrate another successful season.

The presentations were preceded by a pie and pea supper provided by Kellington Manor. Two picture quizzes, one on cricket and one on entertainment, gave guests food for thought as they enjoyed their meal..

During his introductory speech Glyn thanked all the team managers, coaches and parents for their tremendous support during the season, without which none of the Juniors’ successes would have been possible. He also announced that we intend to run an Under 17 team next year.

Bouquets of flowers were presented to Cheryl Wright, Kath Daniel and Helen Smith to thank them for their work as Team Managers during the year

All the Juniors who participated during the season received a trophy. Individual performance trophies were awarded to the following Juniors:-

Under 11

Best Batsman George Wright
Best Bowler Ben Lodge
Best Fielder Mattie Lodge
Most Improved Kieran Murgatroyd
Promising Newcomer Brad Johnson

Under 13

Best Batsman Matthew Wright
Best Bowler Thomas Wright
Best Fielder Matthew Green
Outstanding Performance Aidan Punton

Under 15

Best Batsman Lewis Longstaff
Best Bowler Josh Logan
Best Fielder Jake Punton
Champagne Moment Rhys Hepworth

The Ernie Oldfield Trophy

This trophy is awarded in memory of Ernie Oldfield who sadly passed away in 2008. He was a stalwart of our club for over 50 years. The trophy is awarded annually to the outstanding cricketer in the Under 11 and Under 13 age groups. The winner was our Under 13 winner of the Best Batsman trophy, Matthew Wright. Matthew also won the Pontefract League Under 13 Batsman award and received this trophy at the League‘s Presentation ceremony at South Kirby.

The Duncan Watt Trophy

This trophy is awarded annually in memory of Duncan Watt, a young cricketer from Knottingley Cricket Club who died some years ago. A memorial match is played each year between our club and Knottingley. Duncan’s mother, Jenny, has been a generous sponsor of our club. The trophy is awarded to the outstanding cricketer in the Under 15 and Under 17 age groups. The winner is Lewis Longstaff.