Players, wives, girlfriends, parents and supporters gathered at Kellington Manor for the Annual Senior Awards Night. Before, the presentations everybody enjoyed an excellent carvery meal.
There was the usual mix of awards together with two new categories, The Champagne Moment and the Junior Player of the Year. As well as serious awards there were some light hearted ones to remind everyone that we play the game for fun.
The first award was the Quackers trophy for the player ‘scoring’ the most ducks in the season. Prolific 1st XI batsman, Chris Smith with 4 was an unlikely winner here, after his early season 3 ducks in his first four knocks put him in pole position for this award for most of the season. However, he was caught on the line by Mattie Daniel who spread his ducks evenly between the 1st and 2nd XIs. Both players received a yellow duck as a memento.
Legendary six hitters Tiger Homes and Adie Parker were unable to mount a challenge for the Most Sixes award this year. Promising junior Jake Bury was a creditable runner up with 9, but a clear winner with an impressive 17 was Nicky Kirton.
The next award was the Red Inker award for the player with the most not outs in the season. Last season’s Quackers trophy winner, Simon Vaux, showed a welcome return to form in 2010 and tied for this award with Glyn Draper with 6 not outs apiece.
There were numerous contenders in the 2nd Xi Best Bowler category with James Pearson, Adam Vodden and martin Hudson all taking over 20 league wickets. In a close contest, the awards committee decided in favour of Martin Hudson for his return of 29 wickets and his ability to bowl ‘at the death’.
When it came to the 2nd Xi Best Batsman award there were 2 clear contenders, Tiger who scored just under 400 runs, mostly on one leg, and James Pearson who scored just over 400. With an average of almost 34 James was the deserved winner.
The 1st XI started their League programme slowly before finding form in the middle of the season, which coincided with the start of their cup run which culminated in a thrilling win in the final against Fairburn. Performances in both cup and league were taken into account in deciding their batting and bowling awards.
5 bowlers took more than 20 wickets with Mattie Draper taking the most, 34 but close behind was Matt Daniel who took his 30 wickets at an average of just 16 apiece to win himself the 1st XI Best Bowler award.
The batting award was an extremely close run contest, with Matt Stones, Eddy Wilson, Chris Smith and Nicky Kirton all scoring over 500 runs and averaging over 32. For his consistency throughout the season which brought him 751 runs at an average of 37.6 the winner was Matt Stones.
As with the 2nd Xi the 1st XI Players’ Player of the Year was voted for on the night from a shortlist of three, Nicky, Martin and Mattie. Mattie’s 45 wickets and 200 runs were just enough to get him the nod over the other two strong contenders.
The Junior Player of the Year award is given for performances in senior cricket by a junior player. We are fortunate to have some talented juniors at our club and are hopeful that several of this year’s U15 and 17s will soon become leading senior players. Jake Bury established himself as a valuable member of the 2nd Xi this year where his destructive hitting saw him pass 200 league runs, including a maiden 50, which earned him the Junior Player of the Year Award.
The remaining awards were voted for on the night by the players and officials. The Champagne Moment of the Year saw nominations for maiden fifties for Jake Bury and Adam Vodden, Coxy’s 3 sixes against Thorne, Jules Hat Trick, Vauxy’s 50 in the Cup semi Final and Mattie Draper hitting the winning runs in the cup final. With more than half of the votes, the winner was Mattie Draper.
The 2nd XI Player of the Year saw nominations for Tiger, James Pearson, Martin Hudson and Adam Vodden. The overwhelming victor which rightly recognised a superb season with bat, ball and in the field was James Pearson
Finally, the 1st XI Player of the Year saw nominations for 5 players, the four batsmen who scored over 500 runs and Mattie Daniel, the leading bowler. In the tightest of votes, Eddy Wilson’s 585 runs and 16 wickets saw him pick up this award.

The final presentation of the evening was the President’s Trophy which is given annually to a person whose work on behalf of the club has made a significant contribution to the continuation and development of the club. The award has traditionally gone to one of the ‘more senior’ members of the club, but this year it went to a younger member, Mattie Draper, in recognition of the work he has done in maintaining our Sunday side and his work in coaching our Juniors.